Take a look at my senior year English class adventures

SAMO #1: Poverty and Education

Picture taken by me. This was on the wall of the warehouse.
Selfie taken by me. This is me and Mallory in front of the entrance.

Self timer picture took by me. This was taken right after we signed in.

After weeks of trying to find a date, my friend Mallory and I decided to go volunteer after school on Friday, October 7th. Before this date, we both needed to get permission forms signed by our parents, since we are both under 18. I have never done any type of volunteer work in the past without an adult, so this was very new to me. We rushed straight to my house after the final bell, then I drove both of us to Lake Bluff, Illinois. Another thing about me is that I hate driving, especially in heavy traffic. I get pretty bad anxiety while driving due to being rear-ended a few months ago, so this was another step that I took outside of my comfort zone. It took us around 30 minutes to get there and we had made it just in time. Shortly after arriving and signing in, the staff members took us into the big warehouse and explained what we would be doing.

In the slideshow above, there are many pictures taken by both me and Mallory of our time volunteering at Bernie’s Book Bank.

Click here to check out Mallory’s SAMO Experience!

Mallory and I began with distributing different books into a huge bin. There were four huge boxes of books that were already stickered and ready to go. We took a pile of books from each of the boxes and placed them on the corners of a large bin. Then we took turns layering ten books from each pile into the bin. The people who worked there had explained that this was done to mix up the books, so that when the books are placed in bags for kids to receive, they get a variety of books with no repeats. After about an hour, we were taken over to the sticker station. For the next half hour, we put Bernieโ€™s Book Bank stickers on the bottom corner of the books. These stickers let the children who are receiving the books know that they can take those books home with them. I really enjoyed my experience volunteering at Bernieโ€™s Book Bank, and I recommend that everyone should try it one day!

โ€œIn middle-income neighborhoods the ratio of books per child is 13 to 1, in low-income neighborhoods, the ratio is 1 age-appropriate book for every 300 children.โ€

“Neuman, Susan B. and David K. Dickinson, ed. Handbook of Early Literacy Research, Volume 2. New York, NY”
This graph taken from the Journal of American College Health shows that college student who typically eat breakfast in the morning on average have higher GPAs than students who do not eat in the morning.

4 responses to “SAMO #1: Poverty and Education”

  1. It is so creative that you added statistics to show how we can understand how Bernies Book Bank is helpful. I love your visuals as I really understand how important the book bank is to the community and the workers and of course the impact it leaves on the volunteers.

    Like

  2. I love how you were able to format this blog especially with all the colors! I also really like how you incorporated your photos into the blog which made it a smooth and easy read. It looks like you were able to enjoy your SAMO experience!

    Like

  3. Brooke this blog is really beautiful! I think it is very cool that you knew a little bit about the topic before completing your SAMO experience, and that you continued your journey through research! Good job!

    Like

Leave a comment



Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started